Reflections of Me: Art & Poetry Book by Kirsty Latoya

We’re delighted to reveal that we have acquired Reflections of Me, an art and poetry book by 27-year-old emerging artist Kirsty Latoya, from South London.

The book will be made up of four sections – mental health, identity, womanhood and love – and images will be accompanied by original poems from the artist.

Whilst studying in New York, Latoya took the opportunity to take art classes and learn to paint. Using this as a foundation, in December 2014 Latoya taught herself digital art using an iPad and stylus by experimenting with different apps and programs. Not long after, she ditched the stylus, preferring the freedom of drawing on the iPad with her finger which is how Kirsty now creates all her art pieces.

Latoya’s passion to explore mental health through her art comes from her own battles with mental health – having first suffered with depression at the age of 13 – and a desire to help others who suffer with mental health feel less alone and more connected through art.

Latoya has also been very outspoken for the need to de-stigmatise mental health especially amongst Black and Asian communities who are statistically less likely to ask for help when suffering from mental health problems.

Publisher Crystal Mahey-Morgan said: “Kirsty’s ability to convey emotion through her art and affect the viewer in a profound way is truly breath taking. She has a unique ability to express complex ideas through seemingly simple images around universal human emotion. This coupled with her boldness in tackling sometime sensitive issues makes her a truly exciting artist and one to watch. We’re very proud to be able to work with and publish such an important voice and talent.”

OWN IT! has acquired English print, translation, digital, multi-media and film and TV rights worldwide and will publish Reflections of Me in September 2018


The Time Before The Time To Come by Jill Johnson

We’re delighted to reveal the cover for Jill Johnson’s forthcoming debut novel The Time Before The Time To Come publishing in hardback and eBook on 19th July 2018.

Set between London and New Zealand and intertwining past and present, The Time Before The Time To Come follows Victoria’s journey as she rediscovers her Maori heritage and embarks on a path of self-discovery,
unwrapping layers of her past to try to make sense of her present.

The Time Before The Time To Come beautifully encapsulates the family ties that exist from one generation to the next
and explores the significance of holding on to your heritage as a way of not letting go of yourself. With strong women,
epic journeys and heartbreaking revelations this is at its heart a book of hope and love.

Jill Johnson has lived in South East Asia, Europe and New Zealand. She has owned an editorial cartoon gallery, a comic shop and has been involved in a graphic novel publishing house and now lives in London with her children. The Time Before The Time To Come is inspired by her Maori heritage.

Pre-order now and receive a personalised signed copy from the author on publication day: 19th July 2018



MC Angel Powerful Memoir: Moments of Significance

We’re excited to publish Shauna O’ Briain aka MC Angel’s powerful memoirs Moments of Significance (out 29th March 2018).

Moments of Significance is a non-linear narrative packed with poetry, prose, fragments of memories and mediations on life, philosophy and politics from an uncompromising voice. Told through Shauna’s personal experiences of growing up on an inner-city London council estate as a White Working Class Queer woman, Moments of Significance is an exploration of society and the political told through a very personal collage of experiences.

With accounts from Shauna’s childhood poverty to the devastating family revelation in Ireland; being bullied on her estate for being a Lesbian to finding Buddhism, coping with the death of her mother to piecing together an identity through hip hop, poetry and art, Shauna reinvents the way memoirs are written and through this collection of life moments reveals layers of herself to slowly build a unique relationship with the reader.

Moments of Significance is available to pre-order now. Everyone who pre-orders through the OWN IT! online shop will receive a personally signed copy from MC Angel before the 29th March

Tickets for the unique book launch event are also now on sale

For more info check out our What’s On Page

MC Angel Book Launch for Moments of Significance: A Memoir

AudioBook of Mama Can’t Raise No Man Released via Audible

We’re delighted to share that Robyn Travis’ debut novel Mama Can’t Raise No Man which published in Hardback and eBook in 2016 is now also available as an Audiobook via Audible with a brand new cover. The paperback will follow shortly and also use the new jacket design.

You can now enjoy the many characters and vibrant voices of the novel in audio format with narrator Adjoa Andoh (narrator of books by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie and Malorie Blackman) voicing all the female characters and Damian Lynch (narrator of audiobooks such as The Secret Footballer series) voicing all the male characters.

Mama Can’t Raise No Man is a unique and eye-opening exploration of black masculinity. Brimming with intelligent and thought provoking ideas, it cleverly challenges different definitions of manhood, whilst remaining an engaging, witty and at times laugh-out-loud-funny novel.

The novel unfolds through a series of letters between a colorful cast of characters and the main protagonist, Duane, who despite his efforts to turn his life around, once again finds himself in prison. Hearing Robyn’s work brought to life in audio format is a whole new experience and one not to be missed.

Listen to a sample and purchase the Audiobook of Mama Can’t Raise No Man here

JJ Bola ‘No Place To Call Home’ Book Launch Video

No Place To Call Home’ by JJ Bola is a stunning debut novel with a colourful cast of characters and luminous prose. A tale of belonging, identity and immigration, of hope and hopelessness, of loss –not by death, but by distance– and, by no means the least, of love.

The book launch took place at Dalston Roof Gardens on 20th June and included performances by Anthony Anaxagorou and MC Angel. The novel published in Hardback and eBook on 22nd June.

‘No Place To Call Home’ is available to buy at all good major and indie bookshops